The Bart Players

An Amateur Drama Group


This year a move was made away from the traditional pantomine as our Christmas show, and instead the Bart Players presented a decidedly untraditional farce. Somewhat earlier than usual, Running Riot by Derek Benfield and directed by Gillian Porter was performed in the Canon Lindsay Hall on 8-10 November 2007. An Allo-Allo style romp, this was a play thoroughly enjoyed by the cast and audiences alike – “ze robin is on ze bough”.

Felix – Brendan Fegan
Nicolette – Emma Townsend
Basil Trent – Mark Maguire
Humphrey Podmore – Norman Turkington
Agnes Podmore – Barbara Jeffries
Pauline Maryot – Louise McWilliams
Joe Smith – Michael Fee
Bruchik – Terry McDermott
Miss Hacket – June Silcock

Photographs from the show can be viewed here.

Click here to see the programme from this production – Running Riot Programme

Following the success of Misery the previous year, our Festival entry had a lot to live up to. And it succeeded in being even more successful! The Big House by Lennox Robinson was directed by Gillian Porter and was performed in the Canon Lindsay Hall on 8-10th March 2008. It then went on the usual festival tour, in Newry on 10th March, Newtownabbey on 12th March and Bangor on 2nd April.

Just some of the awards garnished by The Big House were:
Newtownabbey Drama Festival
Best Play
Best Actress – Lynne Taylor
Best Supporting Actress – Barbara Jeffers
Best Young Actor – Michael Porter
Best set – Alan Marshall
Best decor
Award for Technical merit
Con McAlister performance mentioned

Churches Drama League Festival
Best Play
Best Producer Gillian Porter
Best Actress Lynne Taylor
Best Supporting Actress Barbara Jeffers
Best Supporting Actor Ed Flannigan
The Decor Award
Stage Design Award

The success of The Big House meant that it qualified for AUDF finals in Armagh in May 2008. After achieving runner up the previous year it was extra sweet to win this year! The full results were:

Best Overall Production – Gillian Porter and Bart Players’ ‘The Big House’
Best Moment of Theatre – ‘The fire’ – Carrie Mercer and the stage team particularly praised
Best Decor – Alan Marshall for The Big House set
Best Actress – Lynn Taylor as Kate Alcock (Barbara Jeffers as Mary Alcock, also nominated)
Other nominations – included :
Con McAlister as St Ledger Alcock, nominated for Best Actor
Clem Bell as Atkins and Barney Gadd as Reverend Brown both nominated for Best Supporting Actor

Our summer show in 2008 was Busybody by Jack Popplewell was directed by Emma Townsend with the assistance of Christine Martin. Again featuring a few familiar faces, it was a comedy who-dunnit in the usual summer style.
Once again we took the show to the Courtyard Theatre, Ballyearl (1-2 August 2008) and Portrush Town Hall (20-23 August 2008) where we played to appreciative packed houses. We brought the show back to the Canon Lindsay Hall on 11-13 September 2008 for a belated home run.

The cast and crew of Busybody were:

Mrs Piper – Anne Maitland
Richard Marshall – Clem Bell
Detective Constable Goddard – Stewart Greer
Detective Superintendent Baxtor – Norman Turkington
Claire Marshall – Rachel Graham
Marian Selby — Pat Rennix
Robert Westerby – Alan Martin
Vickie Reynolds – LJ Fletcher

Producer – Emma Townsend, Christine Martin
Set Design – Alan Martin
Décor- Michael Fee, James Burns
Props- Caroline Mercer
Costumes – Carmen O’Hagan
Lights-  John Stannard, John Little, John Olver, Thomas Olver
Sound – Michael Patterson, Chris Dawson
Stage Team – Louise McWilliams, Michael Fee
Prompt – Christine Martin
Click here to see the programme for this production – Busybody Programme