The Bart Players

An Amateur Drama Group


The 2010 season marked a return to traditional pantomime for the Bart Players with Cinderella, directed by Simon Pyper. This was a pantomime for the High School Musical/Glee generation with modern songs and energetic dancing and was much enjoyed by children and adults alike. It was performed at the Canon Lindsay Hall on 1-4 December 2010.

The cast and crew of Cinderella were as follows:

Dandini – Lorna Jayne Fletcher
Miss Muffett – Karen McVeigh
Prince Charming – Amy Dawson
Buttons – Kevin Murray
Cinderella – Wendy Pyper
Baron Hardup – Barney Gadd
Baroness Hardup – Lisa Henderson
Verucca – Andrew Devonshire
Septica – Norman Turkington
Smash – Brendan Fagan
Grabb – Garvan Tohill
Flunkey – Stewart Greer
King – Ron Elsdon
Fairy Godmother – Barbara Jeffers
Which Witch – June Silcock
Hag Witch – Pat Rennix
Snot Witch – Anne Maitland
Guest – Mark McGuire
Servant – Justine Henderson, Catherine Olver
Villagers – John Grainger, Kelly Hamilton, Kathryn McCluggage

Producer – Gillian Porter
Director – Simon Pyper
Stage Manager – CarolineMercer
Costumes – Carmen O’Hagan, Pat Rennix, Ruth Turkington
Musical Advisor – Mark McGuire
Poster & Ticket Design – Michael Fee
Publicity – James Burns, LJ Fletcher, Dorothy Martin & St Bartholomew’s Mother’s Union

The programme from this production can be viewed here – Cinders Programme

Our 2011 festival entry was once again directed by Gillian Porter and on this occasion the Bart Players produced “Present Laughter” by Noel Coward.  This is one of Coward’s best loved comedies, written as a vehicle for the star himself.

Set in the early 1940’s, Present Laughter follows a few days in the life of the self -obsessed matinee idol, Garry Essendine, as he prepares to travel to Africa on tour. His line in harmless infatuated debutantes is tolerated, but playing closer to home is not. Just before he leaves for Africa the full extent of his misdemeanours is discovered and merry havoc ensues.


Daphne Stillington – Wendy Pyper
Miss Erikson – Barbara Jeffers
Fred – Garvan Tohill
Monica Reed – Emma Townsend
Garry Essendine – Con McAlister
Liz Essendine – Letitia Fitzpatrick
Roland Maule – Billy Miskimmin
Morris Dixon – James Burns
Joanna Lyppiatt – Sandra Ardill
Henry Lyppiatt – Barney Gadd
Lady Saltburn – Pat Rennix


Director – Gillian Porter
Set Design – Alan Marshall
Stage Manager – Caroline Mercer
Set Build – Ian Hastings
Costumes – Carmen O’Hagan
Photography – Terry McDermott
Lighting – Ivor Agnew John Stannard
Sound – Mike Patterson Chris Dawson
Tickets – June Silcock
Publicity & Art – James Burns and Mike Fee
Tech support – John Little
Furniture Design & Build – Eric Porter
Stage Team – Andrew Devonshire and  Lorna-Jayne Fletcher

Click here to view the programme from this production – Present Laughter Programme

The Summer show for 2011 was “Off the Hook” by Derek Benfield and it was once again directed by Brendan Fegan.  The show played in Ballyearl and Portrush Summer seasons in August as usual, and was presented in the Canon Lindsay Hall in September.

A comedy in the best tradition of summer theatre, this show was well received by audiences at home and away. New faces and old hands worked well together to present a production to be proud of.

Fred and Charlie “spring” Harold Spook from prison so they can get their hands on his loot from a previous robbery, unfortunately Harold is the wrong man… there were two Harold Spooks in the same prison! To make matters worse this one is a complete twit. Fred and Charlie bring Harold to the hotel where the other “Harold” had hidden the money. Trying to find the money is hazardous, they have to contend with Norah the hotel manager’s man-eating wife, her gloomy sister Edna and the fearsome Mrs Fletcher-Brewer. An ingenious turn of events lets them all off the hook, and this riotous farce ends as hilariously as it began.
This show was presented in the Courtyard Theatre, Ballyearl on 5-6 August 2011, in the Town Hall in Portrush on 17-20 August 2011 and in the Canon Lindsay Hall on 2nd and 3rd September 2011.

in order of appearance…

Nora Catchpole – Gail Murphy
Edna (her sister) – Pat Rennix
Fred Baxter – Andrew Devonshire
Major Catchpole – Stewart Greer
Charlie Mullins – Michael Fee
Harold Spook – Norman Turkington
Mrs Fletcher-Brewer – Alice Kyle
Carol (her daughter) – Lorna-Jayne Fletcher
Polly  – Justine Henderson
Mrs Parkinson – Anne Maitland


Producer/Director – Brendan Fegan
House Manager – Brendan Fegan
Stage Manager -Clem Bell
Lights – John Stannard/ John Little
Set Design – Barney Gadd, Eric Porter
Décor – James Burns
Costume & Make up – Carmen O’Hagan
Properties – Lorna-Jayne Fletcher
Sound Effects – Michael Patterson

Click here to view the programme from this production – Off the Hook Programme